Another accolade for Davido

Davido has been named winner of the Best Male West Africa Category at the just held 2018 edition of the African Muzik Magazine Awards – AFRIMMA awards which held at the House of Blues in Dallas, Texas USA. Several other artists and promoters were recognized for their industry imprint.

Davido of the 30 billion gang fame, was awarded the best in the category for male artists in West Africa, making it the third time he would be picking up this award in consecutive years.

Davido successfully advanced over Nigerian contenders including Wizkid, Tekno, Kiss Daniel and Mr Eazi alongside African colleagues Sarkodie, J Hus, Stonebwoy, Toofan and Sidibe Diabate to emerge winner. His win further validates relentless efforts in pushing boundaries to attain revered status not only for himself but also for patriots actively involved in the Africa to the World movement.

Davido who was recently announced on the platform of the MTV EMA 2018 for his nomination as the Best African Act will be looking to replicate his victory feat at the next award stop in Washington DC, USA for the Nigeria Entertainment Awards. Voting links are now open and available online and on social media.

Full list of AFRIMMA 2018 winners below:

Best Male West Africa

  • Davido – Nigeria

Best Female West Africa

  • Yemi Alade – Nigeria

Best Male East Africa

  • Eddy Kenzo – Uganda

Best Female East Africa

  • Sheebah Karungi – Uganda

Best Male Central Africa

  • Fally Ipupa – Congo

Best Female Central Africa

  • Daphne – Cameroon

Best Male Southern Africa

  • Nasty C – South Africa

Best Female Southern Africa

  • Ammara Brown – Zimbabwe

Best Male North Africa

  • Ihab Amir – Morroco

Best Female North Africa

  • Souhila Ben Lachhab – Algeria

Best African Group

  • Toofan – Togo

Crossing Boundaries With Music Award

  • MHD – Senegal/ France

Best Gospel

  • Papa Dennis – Kenya

Best Newcomer

  • Ykee Benda – Uganda

Artist of the Year

  • Fally Ipupa – DRC

Best Live Act

  • Flavour – Nigeria

Best DJ Africa

  • DJ Dollar – Senegal

Best African DJ USA

  • DJ Ecool – Nigeria

AFRIMMA Video of the Year

  • Wizkid – Soco

Music Producer of The Year

  • Masterkraft – Nigeria

Best African Dancer

  • Didi Emah – Nigeria

Best Rap Act

  • Khaligraph Jones – Kenya

Song of the Year

  • Wizkid – ‘Soco’

Best Lusophone

  • Kyaku Kyadaff – Angola

Best Francophone

  • Toofan – Togo

Best African Dancehall/Reggae Act

  • Burna Boy – Nigeria


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.