2016 AFRIMMA Awards

The Black Academy of Arts and letters was a beehive of activities, October 15th 2016, as African Muzik Awards (AFRIMMA) hosted its 3rd award ceremony featuring African Music superstars; 2Face, Flavour, Kcee, Stanley Enow, Nikki Laoye, Sautisol, Afya, to mention a few. Comedian Basketmouth and Atlanta based Reality TV star Cynthia Bailey hosted the epoch event which also witnessed an impressive turnout. AFRIMMA is committed to writing the African Music story and bringing it to the world stage with a mission to break boundaries with music.


TBAAL is a multi-discipline arts organization whose mission is to create and enhance an awareness and understanding of artistic, cultural and aesthetic differences utilizing the framework of African, African-American and Caribbean Arts and Letters. Additionally, its purpose is to promote, foster, cultivate, perpetuate and preserve the Arts and Letters of Africans, African-Americans and Caribbean in the Fine, Literary and Performing Arts.

AFRIMMA founder, Anderson Obiagwu and family


Best Male West Africa

Wizkid – Nigeria

Bisa Kdei – Ghana

Serge Beynaud – Ivory Coast

Olamide – Nigeria (Winner)

Flavour – Nigeria

Carlou D – Senegal

Davido – Nigeria

Sarkodie – Ghana


Best Male North Africa

Amr Diab – Egypt (Winner)

Tamer Hosny – Egypt

Chawki – Morocco

Mohammed Hamaki – Egypt

Douzi – Morocco

Saad Lamjareed – Morocco

Khaled – Algeria

Saber Rebai – Tunisia


Best Female West Africa

Tiwa Savage – Nigeria

Yemi Alade – Nigeria

Efya – Ghana (Winner)

Vivian Chidid – Senegal

Mz Vee – Ghana

Dobet Gnahore – Ivory Coast

Adiouza – Senegal

Almok – Togo


Best Female North Africa

Samira Said – Morrocco

Ibtissam Tiskat – Morocco (Winner)

Angham – Egypt

Sandy – Egypt

Amal Maher – Egypt

Latifa – Tunisia

Amani Swissi – Tunisia

Jannat Mahid – Morocco


Best Male East Africa

Diamond Platnumz – Tanzania (Winner)

Eddy Kenzo – Uganda

Jacky Gosee – Ethiopia

Ali Kiba – Tanzania

Bebe Cool – Uganda

Sauti Sol – Kenya

Dynamq – South Sudan

Jose Chameleon – Uganda


Best Female East Africa

Victoria Kimani – Kenya

Vanessa Mdee – Tanzania

Ester Aweke – Ethiopia

Tsedenia Gebremarkos – Ethiopia

Linah – Tanzania

Knowles Butera – Rwanda

Sheebah Karungi – Uganda

Akothee – Kenya (Winner)


Best Male Central Africa

Fally Ipupa – Congo

Magasco – Cameroon

Ferre Golla – DRC

C4 Pedro – Angola (Winner)

Stanley Enow – Cameroon

Franko – Cameroon

Fabregas – Republic of Congo

Kyaku Kadaff –Angola


Best Female Central Africa

Anna Joyce – Angola

Laurette La Perle – Congo

Betty Akna – Equitorial Guinea

Charlotte Dipanda – Cameroon

Chikune – Namibia

Daphne – Cameroon (Winner)

Rennis – Cameroon

Arielle T – Gabon


Best Male Southern Africa

AKA – South Africa (Winner)

Black Coffee – South Africa

The Dogg – Namibia

Vee Mampeezy – Botswana

Dj Bongz – South Africa

Emtee – South Africa

Roberto – Zambia

Cassper Nyovest – South Africa


Best Female Southern Africa

Zonke – South Africa

Miss Lira – South Africa

Ice Queen Cleo – Zambia

Lizha James – Mozambique

Pah Chihera – Zimbabwe

Nnunu Ramo Gotsy – Botswana

Busiswa – South Africa

Chikune – Namibia (Winner)


Best African Group

Sauti Sol – Kenya (Winner)

Radio & Weasel – Uganda

Os Moikanos – Angola

Bracket – Nigeria

Mi Casa – South Africa

R2Bees – Ghana

Bana C4 – Congo

Yamoto Band – Tanzania


Crossing Boundaries With Music Award

C4 Pedro – Angola

Wizkid – Nigeria (Winner)

Maitre Gims – Congo

Tinie Tempah – Nigeria

MHD – Senegal

Ayo Jay – Nigeria

STL – Kenya

Rotimi – Nigeria


Best African DJ USA

Dj Tunes – Nigeria

Dj Amin – Ethiopia

Dozzy Ross – Nigeria

Dj Deemoney – Nigeria (Winner)

Dj Akua – Ghana

Dj Silent Killer – Caribbeans

Dj Fully Focus -Kenya

Dj Rell – Sierra Leone


AFRIMMA Video of The Year

Flavour – Champion

Emma Nyra ft Patoranking – For My Matter (Remix)

Sauti Sol ft Ali Kiba – Unconditional Bae

Bisa Kdei – Brother Brother (Winner)

Akothee ft Diamond – My Sweet Love

Stanley Enow ft AKA and Locko – Bounce

Phyno ft Olamide – Fada Fada

Korede Bello ft Tiwa Savage – Romantic


Best Gospel

Frank Edwards – Nigeria

Uche Agu – Nigeria

Willy Paul – Kenya (Winner)

SP Koffi Sarpong – Ghana

Icha Kavons – Congo

Ntokozo Mbambo – South Africa

Sinach – Nigeria

Sonnie Badu – Ghana


Best Newcomer

Adekunle Gold – Nigeria

Reekado Banks – Nigeria

Harmonize – Tanzania (Winner)

Falz – Nigeria

Locko – Cameroon

Nathi – South Africa

Kofi Kinaata – Ghana

Humblesmith – Nigeria


Best Video Director

Justin Campos – South Africa

Godfather – South Africa

Clarence Peters – Nigeria

Patrick Elis – Nigeria (Winner)

Mysta Adrenalyne – Cameroon

Enos Olik – Kenya

Phamous Films – Ghana

Savy Filmz – Uganda


Music Producer of The Year

Young John – Nigeria

Masterkraft – Nigeria (Winner)

Dr Fizol – Uganda

Kaywa – Ghana

Visita – Kenya

Tweezy – South Africa

Tud Thomas – Tanzania

Dj Coublon – Nigeria


Best African Dancer

Kaffy Dancequeen – Nigeria

Ezinne CEO – Nigeria

Brenda Derry – Cameroon (Winner)

Sherrie Silver – Rwanda

La Petite Zota – Ivory Coast

Eddy Wizzy – Uganda

Moses Iyobo – Tanzania

Roxy Roberts


Best Rap Act

Phyno – Nigeria (Winner)

Olamide – Nigeria

Aka – South Africa

Sarkodie – Ghana

Cassper Nyovest – South Africa

King Kaka Sungura – Kenya

Octopizzo – Kenya

Prodigio – Angola


Best Collaboration

Reggae Blues – Harrysong , Kcee , Iyanya, Olamide and Orezi (Winner)

Finally by MasterKraft , Flavour and Sarkodie

Mr. Eazi ft Efya – Skin Tight – Ghana

Diamond Platnumz ft Aka – Make Me Sing

Wizkid X Dj Maphorisa – Soweto Baby

Kiff No Beat ft Dj Arafat – Approchez Regardez

Lil Kesh ft Patoranking – Is it Because I Love You

J Martins ft Yousosour Ndour – Time is Now


Song of The Year

Sauti Sol ft Ali Kiba – Unconditional Bae

Franko – Coller La Petite

Reggae Blues – Kcee, Harrysong, Orezi, Iyanya and Olamide

Bisa Kdei – Mansa

Tekno – Duro (Winner)

Kiss Daniel – Mama

Phyno ft Olamide – Fada Fada

Diamond Platnumz ft Aka – Make Me Sing


Artist of The Year

Flavour – Nigeria (Winner)

Diamond Platnumz – Tanzania

Sarkodie – Ghana

Wizkid – Nigeria

Aka – South Africa

Tiwa Savage – Nigeria

Sauti Sol – Kenya

C4 Pedro – Angola


Dancehall Act of the Year

Timaya – Nigeria

Stonebwoy – Ghana

Buffola Soldier – Zimbabwe

Burna Boy – Nigeria

Mc Norman Ganja -Uganda

Samini – Ghana

Patoranking – Nigeria

Shatta Wale – Ghana (Winner)

AFRIMMA Caribbean Artist of The Year

Morgan Heritage


Machel Montano – (Winner)

Sean Paul

Need photography services? We do that and more!

See all Services

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.